skip to primary navigationskip to content

Equality Working Group (formerly Athena SWAN)

The Gurdon Institute supports Athena SWAN


A charter for women in science

The Athena SWAN charter, launched in June 2005, recognises and celebrates institutions' commitment to advancing women's careers in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) employment in academia.  The Charter is founded on six principles, including the requirement to change cultures and attitudes within organisations that have resulted in the under-representation of women in science, and to tackle gender inequalities.

Gurdon Institute commitment

The Institute has made a firm commitment to support the aims of the charter and established an internal committee (Daniel St Johnston, Julie Ahringer, Jon Pines, Emmanuelle Vire, Annabel Griffiths, Ann Cartwright, Diane Foster, Suzanne Campbell and Kevin Coutinho) to encourage participation and assess progress, prior to our application in April 2014.  That application was successful and we received our Bronze award in November 2014.


• Gurdon Institute Bronze Award application - April 2014

The Institute’s Athena SWAN committee has now evolved into our Equality Working Group.   Current members are: Daniel St Johnston (Chair), Julie Ahringer, Andy Bannister, Fabian Braukmann, Suzanne Campbell, Ann Cartwright, Diane Foster, Claire O'Brien, Eugenia Piddini, Alex Sossick, Jill Temple, Vasja Urbancic, Jelle van den AmeeleThis group will work towards submitting an application for the Silver Athena SWAN award in April 2017.

We welcome comments and suggestions from all Institute members.  Please  click here to send an email. Anonymous comments can be left in the admin pigeonhole.